The State Of Massachusetts governs all open burning within the Commonwealth under the provisions of Chapter 48 of the Massachusetts General Laws. 310 CMR 7 allows open burning of certain materials during the period of January 15 to May 1, which would otherwise be prohibited by the provision of the Air pollution Regulations. The statue specifically prohibits open burning of grass, hay, leaves, whole trees, and stumps and burning for land clearing. Violators will be subject to a $50.00 fine.
Easthampton residents that wish to participate in open burning must come to the Easthampton Public Safety Complex to fill out a burning permit. There is a $5.00 Fee for this permit. Residents need only to fill out 1 burning permit for the season. Once permits are on file, Residents need to call the day they wish to burn. Open burning may or may not be allowed depending on weather conditions. The Public Safety Building is located at 32 Payson Ave. When calling for daily burning permits, dial 527-4200, listen to the message and press #4 and then press #0. The Public Safety dispatcher will advise you whether burning is allowed on that day.
Open burning shall be conducted in accordance with the following regulation:
- Only on days which atmospheric and fire hazard conditions are suitable as determined by the Fire Department or D.E.P.
- Burning may not begin before 10:00 AM.
- The fire must be extinguished by 4:00 PM.
- Materials include tree branches, brush, cane, driftwood, and forestry debris.
- Burning shall not take place within 75 feet of a building.
- The person authorized to conduct open burning under this permit shall remain present to control the fire until the fire is completely extinguished.
- A garden hose or other approved method of controlling and extinguishing the fire must be on the site where the burning is conducted.
- You must call each day you plan to burn.